Travels to Turkey

My incredible travels to Turkey in 2007

The Itinerary: Slowly but Surely

Posted by Mardee on March 25, 2007

Today I realized that my trip begins in a little under 6 weeks and I haven’t done any planning at all. So I plopped myself down in front of my bee-yoo-tiful new laptop (Windows Vista has killer graphics!) and planned my little heart out…

May 3, 2007
Day 1 (Th): Leave Cincinnati for Istanbul
Day 2 (Fr): Arr. Istanbul in the early afternoon. Head to either the Hanedan Hotel, Hotel Sebnem, Yunus Emre Hotel, or Hotel Niles. All look nice and very reasonably priced (approximately 35-55/night). Do some sightseeing–possibly the Hippodrome, Hagia Sofia and the Yerebatan Cistern.
Day 3 (Sat): Topkapi Palace and the Blue Mosque
Day 4 (Sun): Boat ride up the Bosphorus. Wander around.
Day 5 (Mon): Leave for Izmir (high-speed ferry to Bandirma, then express train to Izmir). Arrive in Izmir around 2:30 pm, then catch a dolmus (minibus) to Selcuk.
Day 6 (Tue): Rent a car in Selcuk and head for Ephesus.

That’s as far as I’ve gotten. After Selcuk, I plan to drive up to Cappadocia but want to stop along the way in Fethiye, maybe Kas, maybe… who knows? One of my ventures into a travel board forum got me an invitation to look up someone who lives in Cirali, which is off the Mediterranean coast, so I might stop there. Eventually I’ll wind up in Goreme at some point, and then will start making my way back to Istanbul. I would love to visit Sanli(urfa) and Harran but I’m not sure if I will have the time to make it that far east.

(Click on map to see larger)

3 Responses to “The Itinerary: Slowly but Surely”

  1. Woah! I’m really loving the template/theme of this site. It’s simple, yet effective.

    A lot of times it’s tough to get that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and appearance. I must say that you’ve done
    a superb job with this. Additionally, the blog loads very quick for
    me on Opera. Outstanding Blog!

  2. Rosemary said

    Hi Mardee:

    From one travel blogger to another….I loved yours! My husband and I are going to Turkey mid-September for a month. I have book-marked your blog so we can refer to it as we go along. You certainly make it sound easy to navigate your way around with the help of friendly Turkish people and other travellers.

    Thanks.

    Rosemary

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

