Travels to Turkey

My incredible travels to Turkey in 2007

Transportation Decisions

Posted by Mardee on January 25, 2007

It’s tough trying to decide which way to travel in Turkey. I hear horror stories of Turkish drivers so I think I will limit my rental car experiences to areas outside of the major cities. I also have to avoid any mountain passes or scary high spaces – I do NOT do well in high places, and would freak out if I had to drive over a mountain road. Right now the best solution seems to be a combination of train, bus and car travel.

So here’s my itinerary so far: fly out of Cincinnati on Thursday and arrive in Istanbul on Friday. Friday and Saturday will be spent on the main tourist attractions, and a Bosporus boat ride on Sunday. Sunday night I will take the overnight sleeper train to Ankara. It will save me from a long tedious daytime bus ride, and also saves the cost of a hotel room since I’ll be traveling all night. I get into Ankara around 8:00 a.m. I’ll probably spend the day tooling around there OR just take the bus for Goreme – haven’t decided yet.

2 Responses to “Transportation Decisions”

  1. Joe Ehrlich said

    I would suggest taking the night bus straight from Istanbul to Goreme.

    Avoid Ankara if you can.

  2. Mardee said

    Thanks, Joe – good to know. The only reason I’m thinking about the train rather than the bus is because I can’t sleep sitting up… But maybe for one night (and an Ambien) I can get by. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
